The demand for gluten free food has increased tremendously in the recent years as more and more people are learning of their need to reduce or eliminate gluten from their diets. For most people this means no more traditional wheat noodles. But what about Asian noodles? Can they be gluten free?
Some Asian noodles are not made from wheat and therefore naturally gluten free. Included in this category are rice noodles, which are used in a variety of Asian cuisines including Chinese, Thai and Vietnamese. Bean threads, also called cellophane or glass noodles, are made from mung bean starch and are also gluten free. They get their nickname from their clear appearance when cooked.
Noodles made from buckwheat; Japanese soba and Korean naeng myun, are gluten free and typically served in cold dishes. Take note, sometimes wheat flour is added to buckwheat noodles, depending on the brand, so always check the label. Other Asian noodles that are gluten free include varieties made from kelp, sweet potato, tapioca and tofu.
All of these noodles can be used to make a variety of delicious Asian dishes, like the Stir Fry Wagyu Cho Fun we make at Uncle Joe’s Hong Kong Bistro. This flavorful dish uses a wide rice noodle and features Colorado raised Wagyu beef from 7X Beef.